A New Year, and therefore a Meme is involved

Since I’m sort of starting over here, I thougth a meme would be a good easy first post.  I’ve seen this on a few blogs, so naturally I’m copying for myself. 

 January – Took Ava (my almost 2 year old) on her first plane ride when we went and visited my parents.  They decided to spend the month in the warmth of Florida instead of the freezing cold KY weather.  She had her first and only trip to the zoo, and I can honestly say that she was less than impressed. 

February – Started taking tennis lessons with some of my friends, that lasted all of about 2 months before we got bored.  Ava started a baby swimming class, which for the most part she enjoyed.  We also started her in Gymboree, which she is still an active participant of. 

March – Ava turned 1 and I turned 31.  GAH!  Matthew lost his wedding ring, and it still hasn’t been replaced to this day 😦 

April – Celebrated 2nd anniversary and headed to Orlando for a few days.  Not much excitement involved as my husband was there for a work conference but my days were spent sipping cocktails by the pool.  We also purchased what I consider now to be our dream home.  It’s still up in the air if we can actually afford it or not, but it sure is pretty!  Ava also decided that this would be a good month to trade in rolling for crawling, better late than never.  She also dropped her morning nap and settled nicely into a routine of one LONG 3 hour nap in the afternoon. 

May – Moved into new house and started training for a 10,000 K run.  Training was cut short after just about 6 weeks due to a foot injury.  Darn. 

June – Lots and lots of swimming and pool time. 

July – Found out I was pregnant, unexpectedly, but thrilled nonetheless.  Morning sickness kicked in immediately. 

August – Found out I was expecting twins!  Still suffered through pretty bad morning sickness, but I wouldn’t trade what I went through for the world.  Cancelled a trip to Hilton Head because I couldn’t bear the thought of being on a hot beach with a toddler in the throws of it all. 

September – Found out Twin A no longer had a heartbeat.  Had the unfortunate and devastating experience of passing the baby at home.  Was told Twin B was doing great, and had no reason to expect we wouldn’t have a healthy baby.  Dealt with stinky septic system issue which didn’t make the morning sickness any better.  Ava got to spend lots of time with Grandpa and Grandma. 

October – Heard a strong heartbeat on second baby.  Ava finally decided that walking is more fun than crawling and she enjoyed her first real trick o treating outing.  We went to Matthew’s 20 year high school reunion.  A routine visit to the doctor gave us the devastating news that the second baby had no amniotic fluid, and while it was still alive and growing, it’s lungs would not develop and it would not survive outside of my belly.  Started Ava in a parents day out program at a local church. 

November –  Ava was a flower girl in my brother in law’s wedding, possibly the cutest child I have ever seen.  (I am biased of course) A follow up appointment to the doctor confirmed our worst fears that somewhere, somehow my water broke undetected and I was consistently leaking fluid.  Our remaining baby girl was born November 15.  We named her Anna Grace.  My dad suffered a near fatal heart attack, and had 2 separate surgeries to add 4 stents, as well as a defribrilator.  Not a good month. 

December –   We buried our precious baby on December 4, and also purchased the spaces where Matthew and I will eventually lie.  Christmas was fun because of the joy in seeing it through Ava’s eyes, but there was something missing, and everyone felt it, especially me.  Went to Nashville for New Years for a football game.  I’ve never been so excited to see a new year.  Cut my hair for the first time in a YEAR.  I will never go that long again. 

The year started out promising, and ended with a bang, and not the good kind.  If it weren’t for my Ava, I don’t know where I would be.  She is my life, and I’m thankful for her, but I also long for what I could have/should have had.  I will never forget my babies, but the only thing I know how to do is to grieve, and move on.  This is where I hope to be able to do that.   

»

11 Responses

  1. I REALLY hope that 2008 is your year…

    :O)

  2. I’m glad you found a place to get it all out. Good luck in the new year!

    On a slightly funny note, I think there was a slight typo…unless you’re Wonder Woman, I don’t think you were training for a 10,000K…that would be over 6,000 miles!

  3. here’s to a better 2008 for you & your family!
    =)

  4. This seems like a nice place to “start over”:) I am hoping that you find true happiness in 2008! I loved the year in review since I am fairly new to your blog!

  5. Yes, I’m all about starting over. Let’s hope 2008 is a better year for both of us.

  6. All the luck in 2008 – and I am with Wendy. What a way to start over =)

  7. glad to find you here. hoping to hear about 2008 and the happiness it will bring your family.

  8. I like the memory tickers…..

  9. I’m glad you are trying to find a place to cope and come to terms.

  10. Just wanted to let you know I’m reading and thinking of you…

  11. I’m hoping 2008 is a better year for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

